Simple Ways To Make Your Morning Less Stressful


MAKE YOUR

I hate stressful mornings and I try to do all that I can to mitigate the stress not just for me, but for my children too.I don’t know how many mornings we’ve driven off and there’s a lunch bag, a jacket, or a permission slip that has been forgotten. As a result, I’ve developed some simple ways to help avoid the stress and items being forgotten.

 

PUT IT IN THE CAR (OR BY THE DOOR)

Screen Shot 2016-08-10 at 11.04.11 AMIt never fails when you are trying to leave, you ask yourself the same questions (1) Where’s my purse? (2) Where’s my keys? (3) Where’s my backpack? If you don’t need it until you leave, put it in the car.

Bookbags, my purse, a non-perishable snack for tomorrow, anything that I can prep and pack in the car the night before, I do. Restock the diaper bag. Restock the gym bag. Put it in the car–make it wait on you. I’ve even gone as far as putting my shoes in the car too.

Place your keys near the door or on a key ring, make sure they are there before you go to bed.

 

THE POWER OF THE POST-IT

Screen Shot 2016-08-10 at 11.08.01 AM

I didn’t invent post-its, but I do love them. I use them all the time in so many ways. If there’s something I can’t place in the car the night before, I remind myself with a post-it on the door. That way before I leave, the door reminds me of anything I may have forgotten. It is a fail-proof way of getting out the door on time.

 

MAKE YOUR COFFEE THE NIGHT BEFORE

coffee-1414526_960_720If you don’t have k-cups, this is an obvious suggestion. However, my problem is remembering TO MAKE the coffee the night before. So, I had to create a system: After dinner, as I am cleaning up the kitchen, I use this time to make the coffee the night before. Most of the time, I remember. Perhaps I should incorporate a post-it? haha

 

WAKE UP AT LEAST 15 MINUTES EARLIER THAN USUAL

alarm-clock-1193291_960_720You must be thinking, “Are you crazy?” I know. How dare I ask you to wake up even earlier than necessary. But trust me, you won’t regret it. If you get ahead of the chaos, you will feel all the more prepared for the day. Read your Bible, meditate, go for a walk, or just sit and enjoy your coffee, whatever you decide to do… TRUST ME, get up earlier.

 

SOCK THE SHOES


I have all my kids’ shoes in a shoe holder, in a closet, by the front door. On top of that, any pair that requires socks, I keep a pair of neutral colored socks stuffed inside the shoe. For some reason getting socks and shoes on my kids’ feet is as impossible as trying to get Kim K to stop taking selfies.

Do you have any tips for making your morning less stressful? Share them in the comments below. 

 


Leave a Reply

