An Open Letter to Those Who Serve or Have Served in Our Armed Forces


download
Image Credit: Wikipedia

My Brothers and Sisters,

I don’t know who you are, but I’ve seen you in my classroom, in my school, in my grocery store, in my airport, in a restaurant….Or maybe I never got the privilege to see you at all, but I hope you know how heavily the significance of your service weighs on my heart.

When I think about all you have signed up for, there’s so much I want to say. Like how much I love you. How much I support you. But somehow the words never mean enough when I hear them out loud. How do I adequately put into words what you mean to me? To this country?

Sure, we have holidays to celebrate you. We write songs about you. We make movies about you. We invite you to the fields of our football games…. But it still isn’t enough.

Blessed is the man and woman who surrenders all that they have and all that they are to fight, protect, and serve our country. Blessed are the families that sacrifice their comforts and stability to stand by your side.

“There is no greater love than to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.” John 15:13

We do not deserve you. Especially when our country fails to adequately fight, protect, and serve you once you get home.

I hope one day I can truly SHOW you how grateful I am for you and all you do for our country.

God bless and protect you and your families.

Love Always,
An eternally grateful civilian

Please share. I want everyone in our Armed Forces to know how much I appreciate them.


Leave a Reply

