Blessing Bags


GV-HomelessPastor
Image Credit: Godvine.com

One day, I went to the grocery store to go pick up a few odds and ends. As I was approaching the entrance, there was this older man. He was obviously homeless. Our eyes met and I quickly looked away.

By the time I got in to the store, I was so sick. I felt like I should do something for him, but I didn’t know what to do. I was surrounded by food and yet, I couldn’t figure out what to give him.  I second guessed every decision I tried to make. I was so ashamed of myself.

My instincts were clearly telling me to do something for this man, but I didn’t lift a finger. Why?  I don’t know why. But I knew after the fact that I needed to have a plan of action for these kinds of scenarios going forward.

Then, I stumbled upon this from Facebook page, “Love What Matters.Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 9.52.13 AM.png

Blessing bags. What a great idea?

Fill a ziplock bag with a variety of toiletries, snacks, and maybe even some cash. Keep them on hand next time you see someone that you know needs it.

I plan on doing this PRONTO.

 


Leave a Reply

