The Last of Days


Image Credit & Source: Flickr
Image Credit & Source: Flickr

By: Laura A. Farhy

When was the last cuddle?

When was the last lullaby?

Or the last time you’d call for me, 

in the middle of the night?

When was the last kiss goodnight?

Or the last book before bed?

When was the last boo boo I kissed?

Or the last bottle you were fed?

When did I change the last diaper?

Or give you your last bath?

Why didn’t I look back? 

It happened so fast.

All the sleepless nights

and the hardest of days

of every little step

and every little phase.

I’ve been spending so much time

pushing you to the next step

that I forgot to remember all the “lasts”

of a journey I’ll never forget. 

This poem was inspired by blog post “When Did I Last Wash Your Hair?” by Hannah Keeley on Blog/Site, Hannah Help Me You can read it here: “When Did I Last Wash Your Hair?”


Leave a Reply

