NYE and Happy Birthday Kasen!


Family 2

Today my son turns 2 years old. (Happy Birthday Kasen!!) And what he doesn’t know is that in about 5 months he is getting a very special present we CAN’T take back: a baby brother or sister. (I can’t believe I am almost 30 years old, and I will have two kids before the year is over. God, I am getting so old.)

With that being said, Happy New Year!! It is 2015. Yipee! (Can you sense my forced enthusiasm?) Sigh…New Year’s Eve. I feel like NYE is cool when you are single and you are out on the prowl. Your days are spontaneous.  You have NO IDEA what your future holds. In a nutshell, you aren’t an old married pregnant lady that wants to go to bed by 9:30 every night.

I hate that I am so indifferent to NYE, or to the fact that it is a new year in general. I mean every day you are alive–it should be a joyous occasion. Right? But I just don’t feel that way. Well, at least I didn’t at first.

This NYE, I did a little soul searching. I asked myself, why do you hate NYE so badly? And then I realized, it is because I am tired of making empty promises to myself. I am tired of failing at my goals. I am still not shredded like Kelly Ripa. And I don’t have multiple bestselling novels with every change of the season like Stephen King. But that’s okay. Sometimes you just can’t have it all at once.

This year, I am not going to force myself to make goals happen. That sounds so backwards, I know. But just bear with me here: I will work toward my goals, yes. But if they don’t happen this year, or the next–that is okay. As long as I am making the effort consistently, that is fine with me. That will be enough. That is all I need!

This year my resolution is to make the effort, not to obtain the prize per se.  I say this, because I realize that with two children things are going to get a little crazy. But, I also recognize that I will never get this time back in my life. So, I just want to enjoy my children, while they are still children. Everything else is just a bonus.

***Side note, I read this really interesting blog post called, “Why Understanding Obstacles Is Essential to Achieving Goals.”  By Linda Flanagan.  This post really spoke to me, because I am a dreamer. Not a builder. I can dream up the Tower of Babel. Just don’t ask me how I plan on building it.  Thank you Linda for such a fascinating piece!


Leave a Reply

