Perfect Timing


My son was having a hard time falling asleep, so I brought him back to my bed. (My bed always makes him fall asleep quickly.) Staring at his peaceful face, I started thinking about how weird it was that one day my little dude would be a man, with a job, and hopefully have a family of his own. I wonder what he will do and what he will be like.

I remember when I was younger and I would wonder about who I would marry? What would my husband look like? What would my child(ren) be like? What would he/she/they look like? And now, I no longer need to wonder, because that time is now.

It makes me think of thay Bible scripture, about how there is a time for everything. All the things we are dying to make happen will happen on their own accord. We just have to wait.

Often times we are longing for the past, pining for our future and overlooking the bridge of our present.

God knows the whens. His timing is perfect. And whenever I start to micromanage him, I just remember that he is much more intelligent than I am. Regardless of how hard I paddle, if I am still attached to the dock, I am not going anywhere–until He says I can.

This scripture always puts me in my place.“Where were you when I laid the earth’s foundation? Tell me, if you understand. Who marked off its dimensions? Surely you know! Who stretched a measuring line across it? On what were its footings set, or who laid its cornerstone— while the morning stars sang together and all the angels shouted for joy? “Who shut up the sea behind doors when it burst forth from the womb, when I made the clouds its garment and wrapped it in thick darkness, when I fixed limits for it and set its doors and bars in place, when I said, ‘This far you may come and no farther; here is where your proud waves halt’? “Have you ever given orders to the morning, or shown the dawn its place, that it might take the earth by the edges and shake the wicked out of it? The earth takes shape like clay under a seal; its features stand out like those of a garment. (Job 38:4-14 NIV)


Leave a Reply

